DIY Pendant Lamp

I love the simplicity and the beauty of simple glass pendant lamps.  These are a few of the ones I have been keeping my eyes on…

3-Jar Chandelier

West Elm $199

Industrial Pendant – Glass

West Elm $99

 Laboratory Glass Pendant
Aren’t they pretty?  I have been wanting to hang something like this above my sink in the kitchen.  I was thinking that I could potentially make one out of a thrifted glass container, but I didn’t know where to start.  So, a few months ago I came across a blog that had a fantastic tutorial on how to make your own glass pendant!  Here is the link: Vintage Revival Pendant Tutorial

Elated to figure out how to do this, I went on a search for the right piece of glass. I found mine at Goodwill for just under $5.  It is hard to tell how big it is from the photo, but t is about 9 inches wide and 11 inches tall and very heavy, almost like lead glass.  It still had the tag on it from Pottery Barn and cleaned up great!

My husband found the center and marked the spot he would drill.  It does take a special kind of drill bit to drill through glass and they are spendy at most stores.  However, my husband went to Harbour Freight Tools, a discount tool store, and found a package of 6 bits for $8 and change.

It does take about 25 minutes of so to drill through the glass and you have to make sure it is a wet surface on the glass while you drill.  Thanks, Honey, for standing there for that long!  I just came and sprayed water on it every once in a while.

Then we picked up a hanging pendant kit.  Again, Aaron did this part.  I don’t feel comfortable doing electrical work, so I left it to the pro (or the closest thing we have to a pro in our home.)  He just followed the directions on how to wire it from the package.  Check out the Vintage Revivals blog for more info.  She goes into more detail.

Since we used a glass pendant I decided that an Edison bulb would add that little bit of interest that it needed.

And here is our finished product!  And it cost 70% to 90% less than the ones that I have been admiring from afar.


8 thoughts on “DIY Pendant Lamp

  1. Another great idea and resources to duplicate your efforts! Thanks, Brianne. Our prolonged stretch of gray wet weather has me and many around me wanting God to declare again, “LET THERE BE LIGHT!!!” (: <3

  2. Lovely! I always see these at stores and want one, but I don’t want to pay what they’re charging. Now, if only the vintage filament light bulbs were cheaper…

Leave a Reply

