Paper Doily Garland

Introducing the first project for our Sugar and Spice baby shower: Doily Garland.  I found a package of vintage paper lace doilies at Goodwill for $.99.  I know you can get them at Dollar Tree, but at the store near me there are not any traditional round ones.  But that would be a great place to try.  I am also using my vintage seam binding again. I wonder how many projects I will end up using these for.

What you will need:

Paper Doilies

Mod Podge

Paint Brush

Ribbon

Paper Cutter or Scissors

First, you need to make sure your ribbon isn’t wrinkled.  For tips on ironing out ribbon see this tutorial. Then you need to cut your doilies in half. My package came with 40, so by cutting them in half I now have 80 doily halves.

Lay out your ribbon and play around with your spacing.  I spaced them by about 3.5 inches.  I used the width of my hand to space my doilies, which made it pretty easy to space them.  Then I used a paintbrush to apply Mod Podge to the ribbon.  Immediately pressed the doily to the ribbon. Let it sit for a moment and then went to the next doily.

The garland turned out just as I had hoped.  Here is what it looked like at the shower.

Lauren and I

Isn’t she such a beautiful pregnant lady?  Ignore me.  I am not sure why I decided to go with Laura Ingles Wilder hair for my friend’s shower.  I am slightly regretting that from what it looks like in the pictures.

Even though it is a blurry action shot, I love that Lauren’s mom is rubbing her tummy.  What a cute Mom and daughter.

Here are a few more cute pictures of them.

Below is a pic of Lauren and her mom-in-law.  These soon-to-be grandmas are so excited for this little girl to come!

Leave a Reply

