Silhouette Train

Yes! I jumped on the silhouette decorating train.  (After posting this I realized that the title might be misleading.  Sorry, no actual silhouettes of trains here.)  Although this has been a trend for a while I don’t think it will go away any time soon. Whenever there are decorating trends connected to memories or children you better bet on them being around for a while.

I actually made silhouettes of my children last fall for my living room, but once I was finished I realized that they were all different sizes.  For instance, the baby’s head looked bigger than the older brothers heads.  At first I didn’t think it would matter, but it bugged me.  Oops!  Well, you know me you know I make mistakes from time to time so nothing new.

I thought I would give it another try.  I started by taking profile pictures of each of the kids. I tried to be the same distance from each of them so as to keep them proportional in size.

There are so many ways that you can do the next step, but I did mine the lazy mommy way.  I hooked my computer up to my T.V. and placed tracing paper over the screen.  Then I VERY carefully and light handedly traced the silhouette images of each of my children.  Although you love your children, you don’t want to permanently etch their silhouettes into your T.V. screen.  And try not to let your kids see you do this.  I can only imagine what would run through their little brains.  “Look mom is drawing on the T.V.  That looks like fun!”  :)

Other options would be to use a cutting machine, projector, or print it out on your home printer.  I wanted my silhouettes a little larger so that is why I opted to do it the way I did.

After this I traced and cut the images out of different papers with a craft knife.

I glued the silhouettes on with craft glue.

To get the numbers on the canvases I printed out the numbers on tracing paper.  Scribbled all over the back of the paper with pencil. Then I laid out where I wanted the numbers and traced the images, stabilizing the paper with scotch tape.  When you do this it leaves a faint out line on the canvas.  Then I found a black colored pencil and colored in the outline of the numbers.

To finish it off I hot glued gray ribbon around the raw edge of the canvas.  And there you have it.

Silhouette art of your kids or other special people in your life.

One thought on “Silhouette Train

  1. My MIL made silhouettes in black and white of her five sons and had them displayed on the the wall of the stairwell of their home when I first met my husband 41 years ago! Your sweet stylish presentation I hope will be enjoyed by you and yours for many years as well. And BTW, I think you were Very Wise not to let your kids see you trace on the TV screen (:

Leave a Reply

